Join us FEB 18 & 19 – Easton BJJ Open & Muay Thai Smoker

Easton Training Logo Badge

May 4, 2023

Understanding the Kids IBJJF Belt System

Jimmy Girot

Understanding the Kids IBJJF Belt System

While the adult belt system is fairly straightforward, adults often have questions about the kids belt system as they start enrolling their children in BJJ programs. 

Easton Training Center follows the International Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Federation (IBJJF) belt system. The IBJJF is a nationally recognized governing body of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu that hosts many of the biggest Jiu Jitsu competitions in the world. 

Their standardized kids belt system goes through ages four to 15. All students start at white and then move through the colors gray, yellow, orange, and green. Each color has 3 belt divisions: color-white, solid color, and color-black. 

Every belt receives stripes as you work toward the next color. A new stripe gets considered once a student has completed at least eight classes, and it’s been at least a month since their last promotion. 

Many factors go into the decision to promote – including focus, discipline, respect, and performance at school and home. Earning stripes ultimately comes down to the decision of your coach or professor, and they can delay it if needed.

Image: Greg Streech.

White Belt 

The white belt is given at the end of the first class after sign-up. Getting a white belt is greatly celebrated, every person on the mat once stood in the same spot and remembers it. Getting a white belt means first and foremost that you and your child are a member of the Easton family, and second that the other kids now know that your child can handle a little squish. 

As a white belt, children will start to learn the basics of Jiu Jitsu, including keeping positions of control and escaping positions of danger. We also include weekly mat-chats that focus on behavior and how to handle ourselves on and off the mat. 

White belts require five stripes before graduating. A student will spend at least 6 months as a white belt. 

[BJJ In-House: Kids Inspired and Leveling Up]

Gray Belts (Gray-white, Solid Gray, Gray-black) 

Gray belts focus on details and figuring out how to adjust moves against fighting opponents. 

Gray belts can request consideration for the intermediate class, with Coach’s approval. Students attending intermediate classes must attend at least 16 classes before consideration for a stripe promotion. 

Gray-white belts earn 5 stripes and will spend at least 6 months at this belt before moving up to solid gray. Both solid gray and gray-black require 11 stripes to move forward. Students can expect to spend at least a year at each of these belts. 

Yellow Belts (Yellow-White, Solid Yellow, Yellow-Black) 

Yellow belts focus on flow, transitioning from move to move smoothly. They also begin to figure out their strategy and learn now to think several moves ahead. Yellow belts may also join the advanced class, with Coach approval. 

Orange Belts (Orange-White, Solid Orange, Orange Black) 

At the orange belt level, we consider you advanced. Orange belts focus on continuing to develop strategy, finding out which moves work best and how to perform them smoothly. 

[What To Do When Your Little Tiger Has A Bad Tournament]

Green Belts (Green-White, Solid Green, Green-Black) 

Green belts must have trained for at least 10 years and focus their Jiu Jitsu on sharpening their skills and fine-tuning their game. Green-black is the highest belt students under the age of 16 can achieve. 

Moving into the adult belt system 

At the age of 16 students will move into the adult belt system. If a student has shown the proper training and expertise, the coaches may decide to award them a blue belt. Students who need more experience will transfer to an adult white belt. 

[Options To Help When Your Child Doesn’t Want To Train]

Image: Greg Streech.


1 thought on “Understanding the Kids IBJJF Belt System”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for a free class

Sign up below