IBJJF Kids Belt System

The IBJJF Belt System for Kids

Easton follows the International Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Federation (IBJJF) belt system. The IBJJF is a nationally recognized governing body of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu that hosts many of the biggest Jiu Jitsu competitions in the world. Their standardized kids belt system is for ages 4 to 15. All students start at white and then move though the colors gray, yellow, orange, and green. Each color has 3 belt divisions: color-white, solid color, and color-black. 

Every belt receives stripes as they work toward the next color. A new stripe is considered for tigers and little tigers once a student has completed at least 8 classes and it has been at least a month since their last belt or stripe. Intermediate and advanced classes require at least 16 classes before consideration. Many factors go into the decision to promote, including focus, discipline, respect, and performance at school and home. Earning stripes is ultimately up to the Coach or Professor and can be delayed until the student is ready. 

White and Gray-White belts earn 5 stripes and will spend at least 6 months at each before moving up. Starting at solid-gray the remaining belts require 11 stripes to move forward. Students can expect to spend at least a year at each of these belts.

White Belt 

The white belt is given at the end of the first class after sign up. Getting a white belt is greatly celebrated, every person on the mat once stood in the same spot and remembers it. Getting a white belt means first and foremost that you and your child are a member of the Easton Family, and second that the other kids now know that your child can handle a little squish. As a white belt, children will start to learn the basics of Jiu Jitsu, including keeping positions of control and escaping positions of danger. We also include weekly mat chats that focus on behavior and how to handle ourselves on and off the mat.

Gray Belts (Gray-White, Solid Gray, Gray-black)

Gray belts focus on details and figuring out how to adjust and complete moves against fighting opponents. Gray belts can be considered for the intermediate class, with Coach approval. 

Yellow Belts (Yellow-White, Solid Yellow, Yellow-Black)

The yellow belt’s focus is flow, transitioning from move to move smoothly, as they begin to figure out their strategy and thinking several moves ahead. Yellow belts may be allowed into the advanced class, with Coach approval.

Orange Belts (Orange-White, Solid Orange, Orange-Black)

Orange belts are considered advanced. Their focus is to continue to develop their strategy, finding out which moves work best for them and how to perform them efficiently.

Green Belts (Green-White, Solid Green, Green-Black)

Green belts have been training for at least 10 years and are sharpening their skills and fine-tuning their game. Green-black is the highest belt students under the age of 16 can achieve.

Moving into the adult belt system 

At the age of 16, students will move into the adult belt system. If a student has shown the proper training and expertise, the coaches may decide to award them a blue belt. Students who need more experience will transfer to an adult white belt.

Is your child enrolled in a BJJ program yet? Start their free trial today!

1 Comment